A midterm project for an Introduction to Film class at Far Eastern University recently bagged consecutive victories at Adamson University Silip@Lente’s Realifilm 2019 interschool competition and University of the Philippines Cinema’s Piling Obrang Vidyo XVI at the UP Film Institute Cine Adarna/UPFI Film Center.

“Eklipse,” written and directed by FEU sophomore Communication student Jessa Doydora, bested 11 other finalists to win the 2019 Realifilm Golden Award, Special Jury Award and Best Direction at “Realifilm 2019: All Sacrifices for Passion” in Adamson and also brought home the POV XVI Best Narrative Film award in UP Diliman.

Inspired by Dr. Jose Rizal’s “Ang Pagong at ang Matsing” (The Turtle and the Monkey), the film was originally submitted by Doydora and her Pelikulahar Production team for their film class under Prof. David Corpuz last semester, with Francis Tavas as producer, Qi Perez as co-writer and director of photography, Karlo Magboo as sound recordist, Sophie Casasola as camera operator, Migo Morales as production designer and actor, and Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila Psychology student Glenn Villapando as Morales’ co-actor.

Doydora, who is also the director behind the Viddsee Juree Awards 2019 finalist “Press Pause and Play,” said that she is overwhelmed by their film’s recognitions “but above it, we are happy to have that platform to voice out our advocacy.”

De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde film majors Lester Cristal (Shannon Lester Paraico), Andre Joachim “Aki” Red and Vahn Leinard Pascual won the other Realifilm major prizes with Cristal’s “Swelas” (Plan B Production) bagging the Realifilm Silver Award, Best Screenplay for Robin Estargo and Best Production Design for Ged Cruz and Chelo Campos, Red’s “Lilipad na si Birdie” (Anakpula Production) taking the Realifilm Bronze Award, Best Supporting Actress for Deena De Guzman and Best Playbill, and Pascual’s “Linya” (Spontaneous Films) getting the Realifilm Excellence Award and Best Actress for Czkaira Borloza.

“Ingat” by Franz Pascual of Mga Words Production got the Realifilm Virtue Award. “Pangyapak” by Julius Melbourne Custodio of Malaya Production took home Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Actor for Brent Martinez. Jeroen Joyel from Aaron Agtay Films’ “Ongpin St.” won Best Supporting Actor. “Ako si Kat, Ako’y Sikat” by Jherald Arizabal of Lente Production bagged the Audience Choice Award.

Meanwhile, at UP Diliman, another FEU entry, “When the Sea Turns Red” by Ian Caacbay, won Best Editing at POV for Jay Francis Guanga Letrillard. In the film, a young girl in the middle of the sea was redirected by a man who will change who she is forever. Inspired by a controversial event that is still happening today, the film features both characters represented by huge names in the world.

The POV Best Performance went to Chin Chin Jongko of “Garing” directed by Dan Pablo of University of Santo Tomas. Jury Prize, Best Experimental Film and Best Direction were awarded to “Window Shopping” by Maryjoy Abrazado of UP Diliman. Best Documentary was given to “Titser Gennie” by Elijah Prades of University of Makati. Best Experimental Film also went to “Routinary” by Miggy Arnonobal of UP Diliman. Best Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Cinematography, Best Sound and Scoring, Cinemaster’s Choice and Viewer’s Choice were awarded to “Proj. Imakulada” by Jan Michael Bernardino of Mapua University.