Far Eastern University’s aspiration of having a dream season in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season 86 women’s football tournament came true after the FEU Women’s Football Team seized the championship last May 10 at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

FEU defeated De La Salle University 2-1 in extra time to cop its 12th UAAP title to once again emerge as the most successful women’s football program in the league. The school finished with nine wins with no draws or a loss.

Jonela Albiño converted a free kick in the 111th minute to break a 1-1 tie that was established in the first half of the game.

Head Coach Let Dimzon said she was ecstatic with the result but admitted being nearly exasperated during the contest.

Players celebrate Inday Tolentin’s equalizing goal in the first half of the game.

“I have mixed emotions because there was a time in the game, I was losing hope because our usual play was not there. From round one to second round, we played great, the passing was beautiful. But today our passing was not clicking,” said Dimzon.

Coach Dimzon credited her players for the hard work they did during the season and months leading up to it. In addition, she highlighted the team’s resiliency to make up for mistakes during a game.

“The diligence of the team, that’s the biggest highlight for me. Every time the other team scores, they don’t stop, they just want to get score right back and put us on the winning track,” said the coach.

De La Salle University (DLSU) scored first after Maria Layacan capitalized on a breakaway and converted in the 16th minute. Tournament Most Valuable Player Dionesa Tolentin gave new life to the green and gold after scoring the equalizer before the first 45 minutes ended.

Tolentin, who also earned the Golden Boot and Best Striker awards, was happy that her team did not lose composure despite trailing by a goal.

“The eagerness to win was always there with the team. We faced many challenges; we got up early in the mornings to train. But winning the championship is the most important thing now and this is a result of all the hardships we experienced,” said Tolentin.

Jubilation ensues following Jonela Albiño goal that clinched the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Football title

Coach Dimzon said Albiño’s championship-winning goal came naturally because of constant practice.

“The area where she was in is her favorite spot and every time there’s a foul there, she automatically gets the play for the ball. She was very confident that it would go in,” said Coach Dimzon.

The other FEU individual awardee is Judie Arevalo who was named Rookie of the Year.

“Congratulations to DLSU Football for an intense and hard-fought match last night, and to all the UAAP teams we faced throughout the season. Thank you to my fellow UAAP coaches for continually raising the standard of women’s football. Looking forward to Season 87,” said the coach.

Individual awardees of the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Football Tournament